Bhutans religion | Buddha Shakyamuni | The teachings of Buddha

The Buddha's teachings

A lot of the teaching of the Buddha Shakyamuni was, in one form or another, already known in the India of the fifth century B.C. What was new for that time, however, was that a religious master explicitly regarded such philosophical problems as the questions concerning nirvana, the absolute, the cosmological explanation of the world, or the existence of a human soul, as being of secondary importance.

The Buddha did not want to explain philosophical points, but teach meditative practices which should lead to the one and only aim - the release of the cycle of rebirths.



At the centre of the Buddha's first sermon in the Deer Park of Sarnath were the »Four Noble Truths« (aryasatyani in Sanskrit) and the »Noble Eightfold Path« (aryastangamarga in Sanskrit), which, until today, have formed the centre of all forms of Buddhism.

The history of Bhutan
Bhutans religion
.  Buddha Shakyamuni
.  .  The Buddhas life
.  .  The teachings of ..
.  .  .  The Four Noble Truths
.  .  .  The Noble Eightfold ..
.  Buddhism
Gods and Sacred ..

Top |  Home |  Sitemap |  Search |  Glossary |  The Objects |  Tour |  Help

The Dharmacakra – the wheel of teaching – is one of the most important symbols of Buddhist doctrine. The turning of the wheel stands for the changes of the mind caused by the Buddha's teaching. The eight spokes symbolise the»Noble Eightfold Path«, which, similar to a cartwheel, leads to enlightenment through all impediments. The sign in the centre shows the wheel hub made out of four rotating Chinese yin-yang symbols and hints to the »Four Noble Truths«.
The two deer listen to the first sermon of the Buddha in the deer park of Sarnath in India.